Musical Interlude

I woke at 1.18 am today and since I couldn’t get back to sleep I decided to hit Youtube and listen to James Taylor. He’s had amazing longevity since his breakthrough in 1970 with Fire and Rain. He was just 22 when that happened. He hasn’t stopped since then. Many of his songs have a real significance in the lyrics that resonate with his fans, and they are legion as James Taylor is one of the biggest selling artists of all time ….over 100 million.

Another set of artistes from the same era were Simon and Garfunkel. They wrote superb songs with lyrics that could bring tears to the eyes and make those tears flow once they started to sing. Lyrics are what define a generation and for me the generation I grew up in sang about love peace and friendship. That’s never changed for me. I added this particular James Taylor song and now this Simon and Garfunkel song just to let you all know how I feel and to remind you that though I can’t be around very much I will be here for you.

I’m sure you all know many songs with special lyrics that affect you. No doubt some of you are wondering why I haven’t used Motown songs since I’m such a fan but I’ve tried to go for two that say just what I want .

I send you Massive Hugs and ask you to pass them round, especially to any Muslim friends you have to let them know we realise they are not responsible for the actions of a few savages.

 

About davidprosser

Retired Local Government Officer who started to write at age 60 and hasn't looked back. Writes a humorous diary on the life of a member of the gentry.......and the village he lives in with his sadistic early morning alarm cat Oscar and his wife the formidable Lady J.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Musical Interlude

  1. inavukic says:

    Can’t go wrong with these two 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. merrildsmith says:

    I love both of these songs, David. You are right that they have special meaning these days.
    I hope you are feeling better.
    Massive hugs! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  3. My kind of music, David.
    Hugs to you. 🤗

    Liked by 1 person

  4. David, *you* my friend are a bridge over troubled water. Mega hugs!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I too, am a devotee of S & G. For many years ‘The Boxer’ held a special resonance for me and spoke a lot about my own life and fortunes. So many songs – ‘Bright Eyes’ which brought life to that wonderful bunny tale – ‘Climb every Mountain’ for the first girl who brought me love and the mountain we never climbed, ‘I’ll be Home at the End of the Day’ from the wonderful but fatally flawed Sandy Denny. But hey, I can’t live in the past all the time: bring on Florence and the Machine! Hugs, David.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Ah! As I sit looking at my rack of LPs Chris Rea’s ‘Road to Hell’ glares back at me. And Neil Diamond is everywhere in my life. So – me too!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. ya can’t go wrong with James Taylor or Simond And Garfunkel in the wee hours of the morning!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

