Looking hatred in the eye, and beating it.

Here is a well thought out post reminding us there is still joy in life and not to allow fear to crush us.

Well, This Is What I Think

fear

One of theeffects of events such as the hideous massacre of innocents in Orlando is the repeated assault on the mood and feelings of people who are only distantly connected to the actual event.

At times like this, it is all to easy for our imaginations, driven by empathy for those hurt, driven by our simple understanding of what they went through, driven by the awareness that that could have been us, to be completely overwhelmed by the horror.

The news is inescapable. Media coverage is wall-to-wall. It regularly beats in onall of us, even those who seek to shut it out by avoiding the endlessly repeated 24 hour newscasts. An intrusive internet headline here. A radio soundbite there. A comment from a co-worker. Acride coeur from someone standing next to you in a queue for coffee.

The global psychic effect of the accumulated evil in the…

View original post 1,102 more words

About davidprosser

Retired Local Government Officer who started to write at age 60 and hasn't looked back. Writes a humorous diary on the life of a member of the gentry.......and the village he lives in with his sadistic early morning alarm cat Oscar and his wife the formidable Lady J.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Looking hatred in the eye, and beating it.

  1. Skimming through my WordPress “reader” I’m getting the impression that there is yet another absolutely horrid news headline that I haven’t read… I’m afraid to open the news… but I have to.
    Mega hugs to you, dear friend. ❀ πŸ™‚ ⭐

    Liked by 1 person

    • davidprosser says:

      Evil is still alive and well I’m afraid Teagan. More innocents killed in the name of Allah who would probably banish the ones who committed this crime.from Paradise.
      Brace yourself.
      xxx Humongous Hugs xxx

      Liked by 1 person

      • I just saw your other post, farther down in my inbox.
        I cut the cable cord three years ago, so I mostly see internet news. Often the important things get lost in all the sensationalism (but that’s true of network news here too).
        I’ve been doing better on some levels, since I hardly ever see the news. But I do want to stay informed about the big things… More hugs.

        Liked by 1 person

      • davidprosser says:

        If only you were here, I’m sure with mutual hugs we could protect each other from these horror stories.
        I’ve been wanting to ask about the other jobs you applied for but don’t want to open any wounds????
        xxx As always, Massive Hugs xxx

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh no wounds re the interviews. I just avoid mentioning it on my own blog, in case my bosses, or even prospective employers might wander in and take a look. Then, sometimes I just don’t give a hoot any more, and I vent. πŸ™‚
    I went years without even getting an interview (even though I often rate among the top few applicants, and with Fed jobs, you’re supposed to get an interview). So as Olga reminds me, at least I’m getting some interviews now, when for years I despaired of ever getting one.
    Sooo I’ve had 3 interviews for jobs out west, this summer. The most recent being about a month ago. None of them have answered my follow-ups… Typical.
    One it went so amazingly well. The Director called personally (an hour later) and it became a second interview (for that job). My inner optimist was resurrected and I thought sure I’d get an offer. But in hindsight I realize she was overly focused on my age. She brought up my gender a few times as well. In other words she wanted a young male who could start work immediately (not give 2 weeks notice and then need time to move across the country…).
    So I’m still dealing with the complete void of any respect.
    If I can arrange housing first, I truly intend to quit without a new job waiting at the other end, and hope for the best. Living in this kind of environment is what kills people. But the catch is the housing. Everyone wants proof of local employment, even to rent.
    So there’s the status of my soap opera. More hugs my friend.

    Liked by 2 people

    • D. Parker says:

      I hope things work out, Teagan, you deserve a job and life where you are treated with dignity and respect. Mega all the best hugs, Donna xoxo

      Liked by 1 person

      • Thank you kindly Donna.
        (I didn’t want to hijack David’s blog with a long comment. However, since he is trying to spend less time with such things, I didn’t want to give him an extra email.)
        New week hugs!

        Like

  3. One essential lesson aggressors never seem to learn is that bombs and terrorist acts against civilian populations NEVER win wars. If anything, they further stiffen resolve and increase the cohesive spirit of communities. Ah, but it keeps on happening because it is more about anger than winning. Hugs, then, David. Be well.

    Liked by 1 person

    • davidprosser says:

      If we could harness all that anger and hate Frederick we could generate the power to rebuild some of the countries we helped destroy. Maybe then the anger and hatred would stop. But, I doubt the ones who want to introduce Sharia law into these places so they can be run by them on fear would be too happy.
      Keep well.
      Hugs

      Liked by 2 people

  4. D. Parker says:

    Sending hugs your way, dear David. πŸ™‚
    I know it seems like hate is winning, but everyday, in many ways, goodness peeks out, like a flower out of the snow, to show us it’s still here. I think goodness is winning, but the news promotes hate, shows hate, fuels hate. We need to focus on the good, it’s what matters.
    Massive hugs, dear fiend, all the best, always. xoxox

    Liked by 2 people

    • davidprosser says:

      You have a lovely way of motivating me Donna. I shall try and ignore the news which seems to show all the bad in an effort to sell papers. I shall focus on the good out there and I know it exists and must win in the end.
      xxx Gigantic Hugs as always xxxxxxxxxxxx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

