The Buthidar’s Dream.

When I originally started the Buthidars some years ago now, I was very into using Facebook. I was also very interested in all things Knights Templar, in particular The Order of St Lazarus. I had envisioned the Buthidars being set up as a non-religious group operating along the lines of one of the chivalrous orders with a hierarchy in each country from Grandmaster down.

Cross of St Lazarus.

Rather than the Cross of St Lazarus I wanted to show more a care for the world in general and not just for lepers.

Hands around the world.

Hands around the world.

I believed then, and still do, that with a Grandmaster in each country able to organise groups in each area who could then break it down into smaller, more local groups, each area could have like a ‘hit squad’ quickly able to respond to problems. With a variety of people within groups, not responsible to any religion there would be a good knowledge base to offer advice as well as maybe practical help to anyone in need from any social group.

On Facebook this started well and there were people from a variety of countries ready to start and from a variety of disciplines. There were people able to offer advice to those who felt they were being forced in to marriage as well as those able to offer help and advice to those with a short term mental illness to debt problems. The move from Facebook didn’t go well as at that time people weren’t willing to move to other social sites and I let things lapse badly. A great disappointment to me personally was wanting to have a day of Hugs Across The World which I hoped would bring people together and show them that others cared. I wrote to so many student unions Worldwide and got virtually no response. It brought me to a low point in my life.

I became ill. I paid for someone to come over from Africa so we could talk about raising funds for a school with accommodation attached for the children. I managed to get the funding promises together but Africa didn’t take the project forward. I also gave away a fortune to everyone who said they had need, and I admit this was to the detriment of my own family. I became more and more insular as time went on and the Buthidars went to a back burner.

I’m not in a good place at the moment and the insularity has so much appeal but I can’t help but think there is still need for the Buthidars in the World. Crossing all boundaries and supplying those hugs that the world still seems to need. I still hope that one day the world can learn to live at peace and we’ll be happy to offer an embrace to anyone regardless of where they’re from. I’m convinced it’s people like you who will bring the peace about, who will show others that we care and where possible we will help.

I’m hoping you have as much faith in yourselves as I have in you.

Hugs Galore.

David

 

About davidprosser

Retired Local Government Officer who started to write at age 60 and hasn't looked back. Writes a humorous diary on the life of a member of the gentry.......and the village he lives in with his sadistic early morning alarm cat Oscar and his wife the formidable Lady J.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to The Buthidar’s Dream.

  1. D. Parker says:

    I think your message is out there, David, no darkness can truly take the light. You take time for you. I’m sending massive you deserve break just know we’re still here whenever you need us hugs xoxox

    Liked by 2 people

  2. My dear David — what a marvelous speech! I’m cheering as I read. Bravo! The world is blessed to have you, and we are privileged to know you. Whatever causes you do or do not support, no matter how much of a break you need to take… just promise me one thing. Never, ever stop being you. Be who you are no matter what. Every vibe of energy you send out, is desperately needed not just by the greater “world” but individually by each of us here in this little bloggy world. You are a treasure, my friend. And don’t you forget it for a moment.
    Just, maybe give the world hug day one more try, one of these days. That would be the best thing ever. ๐Ÿ˜€ Mega hugs!

    Liked by 3 people

  3. MELewis says:

    David, you shouldn’t think of taking care of yourself as being insular. You must save yourself before you can help the rest of the world! I believe that it’s the small things in life that make all the difference. Hugs can be a virtual circle of love that radiate outwards. But first you need to be in a good place. I hope you can find your way back, we miss you! xo

    Liked by 3 people

  4. davidprosser says:

    Thanks so much for your kindness Mel. I admit I’m struggling to get my foot back on the ladder at the moment. But I haven’t forgotten my friends.
    xxx Gigantic Hugs xxx

    Liked by 2 people

  5. inavukic says:

    Hugs from where I stand aplenty, David – plenty for all – thinking of you and imagining the return of your strength after this spell of “insulation” which by the way could have a positive spin in re-energising. Bestest of wishes and many hugs

    Liked by 2 people

  6. inesephoto says:

    David, take your time and enjoy your summer ( whatever it means in your neck of the woods). I have an old friend who cares for lepers, and I care for the world in general too. You can have a break and regain your strength – we will be here to keep the world in balance and waiting for your return ๐Ÿ™‚ Sending you many hugs! xxxxxx

    Like

    • davidprosser says:

      I’m sure my Summer in Wales won’t be too different from yours in Ireland Inese, except maybe a bit wetter.I do hope you can keep the world in balance until/if I’m able to return and at least I know you’ll be caring for the world.I hope you’re well and thank you very much for your encouraging words.
      xxx Gigantic Hugs xxx

      Liked by 1 person

      • inesephoto says:

        David, I am in the desert now, sorry for boasting ๐Ÿ™‚ Just couldn’t resist ๐Ÿ™‚ Sending you a good weather, hope it won’t get lost on the way. Hugs!!! xxxx

        Liked by 1 person

      • davidprosser says:

        The weather is currently superb and has been for at least a week.It looks nice outside so any more you send will be welcome, there are a lot of smiles on people’s faces as they pass by.
        xxx Hugs xxx

        p.s I hope the desert is a temporary thing and you haven’t moved there.

        Liked by 1 person

      • inesephoto says:

        Hope the weather stays warm when I come back home. I haven’t moved to the desert – I am visiting my daughter ๐Ÿ™‚

        Like

  7. merrildsmith says:

    Dear David, I wish you all the best. I hope you will be feeling better soon. I know you have many loved ones nearby (and those adorable grandchildren), and you have many people who care from you from afar. A thousand hugs!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Don’t stop being you, David. It’s people like you who make the difference in this world. Take as much time as you need. Nobody here is going anywhere, so you know where we are if you need us.
    Huge hugs to you.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. davidprosser says:

    You’re a very kind man Hugh and I thank you very much.
    Hugs

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

