Picture Books

We have to remember to look to the future and not just concentrate upon the Now.We have a duty towards generations to come and can’t just sit back and let the future take care of itself. We have to give some thought as to what we’re leaving as a legacy for our grandchildren and make it happen.
Don’t be part of the generation that is reviled because of the profligate ways we had with someone else’s future.

Ramblings of the Claury

In honour of the wonderful David Attenborough’s 90th birthday on Sunday, this week is going to be natural world week on Ramblings of the Claury. We’ll share some of the great man’s quotes, as well as words from others who have inspired the study and respect of the planet and the animals with whom we share it.

l&c1156

View original post

About davidprosser

Retired Local Government Officer who started to write at age 60 and hasn't looked back. Writes a humorous diary on the life of a member of the gentry.......and the village he lives in with his sadistic early morning alarm cat Oscar and his wife the formidable Lady J.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Picture Books

  1. GP Cox says:

    Due to the death of my son during the first Gulf war, I’ll never have grandchildren, but that doesn’t stop me from being a very avid re-cycler, etc. plus I reprimand those who do not. [don’t get me started on the animals – I’ll never shut up]!! I tell people don’t you even care about the legacy you’re leaving? Are we such lazy, wasteful people that we allow greed to ruin our air and planet? Oh, I’ve babbled enough – you know I agree with you!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • davidprosser says:

      I’m glad you’re getting the message over loud and clear GP. Halft the problems seems to be that Governments still; dent climate change and people don’t know where they are. I’m truly sorry about your son , having a child go before you is an awful feeling.
      Thank you for working for all the other children to come.
      Hugs

      Liked by 1 person

  2. A very insightful introduction to this reblog, David. I readily confess that anything that harms animals hurts and disturbs me even more that the same to people… Wishing you happiness. Mega hugs.

    Liked by 1 person

    • davidprosser says:

      Thank you Teagan. Anyone who doesn’t care for an animal usually doesn’t care for people either. I’ve no time for anyone so self centred. Those who don’t make an effort to preserve animals fall into the same category.
      xxx Massive Hugs xxx

      Liked by 1 person

      • You know David… I guess it speaks poorly of me, but I seem to have had about as much “bad news” as I can handle in one lifetime. It was not why I “cut the cable cord” 2 years ago, but the fact that I have much less exposure to “the news” has helped me a lot. Even so, this week there were several times that I was morbidly compelled to read the stories attached to several horrific headlines, though I knew I wasn’t doing myself any favors. The things humans do to one another… I have to think that putting such stories in the news makes it worse, more likely for another nut-bag to do the same horror.
        Enough of my ramble. It looks like I might have a little sun today (after 2 solid weeks of rain). Here’s to happy thoughts — and sunshine super hugs to you.

        Like

      • davidprosser says:

        Like you I have avoided the news fora long time Teagan. I’m sorry you’ve seen some upsetting news again this week. You’re quite right that whatever evil a person can think of to inflict on another will surely be copied by some other evil person who wants the notoriety.It amazes me just how inventive really nasty people can be when it comes to harming someone else.
        If the sun doesn’t arrive on time just smile Teagan because you spread sunshine anyway. We’ve had a beautiful day, the fourth on the trot now and it’s made so many smiles appear, it’s wonderful.
        xxx Hugs Galore xxx

        Like

  3. merrildsmith says:

    We must be mindful–and remember the past and the future, and not simply be concerned with satisfying our own desires.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. C. M. Marquez says:

    Absolutely beautiful heartfelt post. Thank you so much for sharing. I also wanted to tell you thank you SO SO SO much for taking the time to read my post “Please Help Our Momma” that was reblogged on the Our Rumbling Ocean blog. It means the world to me that you stopped to read about our cause. I’d humbly like to ask that you consider making a contribution to the cancer relief crowd funding campaign me and my twelve year old brother made for our mom who is fighting third stage colon cancer. Attached are both the links to my original post as well as the campaign itself where you can donate. Please take time to put my family in your consideration this week. If you cannot donate please at least reblog our cause. I know you can help make a tremendous difference!

    “Please Help Our Momma” post – https://glidius.wordpress.com/2016/05/02/helpourmomma/

    Donate here –
    https://igg.me/at/Hz9-ILFN2P0

    Thanks so much!

    Christopher Michael

    Like

  5. I am going to agree that our duty lies in what we leave to our children, but at the same time I have to acknowledge there is a dreadful inevitability in the course of events that nothing can reverse. Yes, I recycle, and I try to make my heavy footprints as light as possible, yet in the knowledge that apart from self-satisfaction, I gain very little for the world.

    David Attenborough should, life force he undoubtedly is, make a difference. But again, I feel in the end the poachers will win. It is very, very sad.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

