The More Things Change……..

………The More They Stay The Same.
As many of you know I trawl Youtube for songs to put on my other blog to accompany the posts and photographs. Sometimes I score a palpable hit with someone and bring back memories they (mainly) enjoy. I usually like most of the ones I play and listen to them as I work. Because of that there are times I can’t avoid bringing the memories flooding back.

Yesterday I read a blog that shocked me to the core. and I’m only sorry that after I read and commented on it that I didn’t record it. I may have followed it but if I did I’d have problems directing anyone to it because of the content. It was brutal. I’m a child of the 50’s so grew up with the 60’s and the music of that era as well as many of the standards of that time. I know that with the older generation we were often referred to as The Great Unwashed, lazy, degenerate, godless and in some instances as the antichrist. Anyone who feels as I do about religion will see the humour in that.

In the 60’s the Hippie movement started, and like Topsy just grew. There was much disenchantment with Governments especially in America which using the draft was sending a young generation out to fight a war it shouldn’t be fighting and had no chance of winning. Many young Hippie became draft dodgers and earned the hate of a generation used to believing their Government could do no wrong.

Listen to the music of the time and songs like Eve of Destruction by Barry McGuire and you’ll hear mention of the war and the continual killing. But you’ll also hear of other battles taking place like Selma, Alabama. And across the Southern States of America where brave people of all colours were trying to break the evils of segregation. Yes, segregation in the 60’s, where whites would firebomb buses of people come to end this evil practice. Where African Americans were still being lynched, beaten or dragged on a rope behind cars, resulting in death. Those people who claimed superiority because of their colour were the godless, the antichrist. Anything to avoid using the same entrance to a shop as someone with colour and who saw no good reason why children of differing colours should be educated together.

You’d surely have to agree that the Hippy movement were the good guys back then. They sought change and brought it about by peaceful means. I’m not by any means saying it was just youth that cared either as the changes appealed to many of the older generation too. The blog I saw yesterday contained many pictures that sickened me to the stomach and chilled me to the bone. Lynchings, evil cowards who hid behind masks of white as though they were the ‘good guys’. I saw police who were part of this cancer who would no doubt claim to be following orders just like the Nazi’s before them.                                                  But good won out in the main and things changed. Vietnam ended and the soldiers came home. Segregation was ended and in the main things improved.

Now maybe it’s time for us aging Hippies to get back on the streets to force changes on another Government that has boys out fighting where they don’t belong even though they may not be drafted anymore. Maybe it’s time to force the administration to come down heavily on the corrupt police forces who seem to be able to shoot black suspects with impunity. Maybe it’s time to look at another way of electing our officials so that it isn’t money that wins their elections. And a way to make them answerable to the people if they don’t do the job they’re elected for. Maybe everywhere in the world the Church and the Government are separated so that in Ireland priests who commit acts against children cannot be protected ever again. That a Government decide to punish wrongdoers in the Moslem world and not accept the barbaric practices of their fundamentalist Imams or armed killers like ISIS.

Here are some of those songs I mentioned.

 

About davidprosser

Retired Local Government Officer who started to write at age 60 and hasn't looked back. Writes a humorous diary on the life of a member of the gentry.......and the village he lives in with his sadistic early morning alarm cat Oscar and his wife the formidable Lady J.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to The More Things Change……..

  1. merrildsmith says:

    We just Michael Moore’s new movie. At the end, he’s kind of optimistic as he recalls using a hammer and chisel on the Berlin Wall and mentions other changes that have taken place that no one ever thought would happen.
    Hugs, David.

    Liked by 1 person

    • davidprosser says:

      There have been some great changes Merril and they needed to be made. But there still seems to be Institutional Racism in so many places. I recall it isn’t too long ago that the KKK sent people over to my country (Wales) to try and gain members and foment trouble in the Valleys of South Wales where there was some tension. I’m glad to say they were laughed out of town but the thought that they still exist in this day and age was awful.
      I’m also sick that our countries still seem to find it easy to send boys to war in places we don’t belong, all to try and control oil. It seems we still have a fair way to go.
      I’m pleased with what’s been achieved but don’t want to go back to the bad old days.
      xxx Gigantic Hugs to you xxx

      Liked by 1 person

  2. You have a beautiful soul David.
    You’ve put me in mind of my favorite”protest song”… I never can remember its correct name, but”What’s That Sound”… Was it Buffalo Springfield? Anyway, Tab Binoit did marvelous blues cover of it several years ago.
    I’m just rambling.. Caught a cold yesterday…
    Mega hugs my friend.

    Liked by 1 person

    • davidprosser says:

      Thanks so much Teagan. I just don’t want to see all that work and hope go to waste. Yes, it was Buffalo Springfield, I listened to that song last night. I’m sure it’s on the video posted here.
      I’m so sorry you’ve caught a cold as you seem only just to have recovered from an illness. I worry about you Teagan Dear.
      xxx Mega Hugs returned with hugs and kisses xxx

      Liked by 1 person

      • LOL… yes, so much for my “resolution” of late 2015 to not get sick again. I try to “hold within my mind an image of perfect health” (thank you Bob Proctor) and it helps. But it seems like with any over-the-top-stressful situation at work, I get another cold… Fortunately they are not awful colds…only colds, not something worse.
        I’ll be fine, dear David. Even after 4 years of trying to get a new job out west, I have not given up. Still trying to improve my situation and get away from these crazy bosses. 😀
        More hugs! 🙂 ❤ ⭐

        Liked by 1 person

      • davidprosser says:

        I still keep my fingers crossed for you.
        xxx Mega Hugs xxx

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m with you. Our men should not be fighting someone else’s war.
    Love these songs. The compilations starts off with a bang.
    Wonderful post. I love the music of the 60s and 70s. Thank you, David.

    Liked by 1 person

    • davidprosser says:

      Thanks so much Tess. I can always count on you to see the point I’m trying to make. This was a good collection of songs from my favourite era that made people want to change the world……..and did.
      xxx Ginormous Hugs to you Dear Friend xxx

      Like

  4. MELewis says:

    What a great playlist, David! I remember turning ten in 1967 and feeling frustrated at being a bit too young to be really part of it but somehow knowing I was a hippy at heart. We were the peace and love generation and may we never forget that. Thanks for the timely reminder! xo

    Liked by 2 people

    • davidprosser says:

      I think we were the generation most hated by the Establishment ever as the Hippies threatened to turn the world into a place of peace. Now that generation is the Establishment and they hate the idea of Hippies just as much. Yet we were so full of hope that we could change the World for the better and end wars.
      The awful thing is, many of the things we wanted to change still need changing and we need to raise a new generation of Hippies that can do the job ( while listening to music like this of course ).
      xxx Massive Hugs to you Mel xxx

      Liked by 1 person

    • Exactly! What Mel said. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  5. …Not to mention, we are still in the nuclear age. I was rather young when the Vietnam War ended, but I still remember the fear that surrounded me. It was the only time in history when two countries who had the power to destroy the planet with nuclear warheads were engaged in hand to hand combat (Vietnam). I see history repeating itself in some ways and definitely feel the fear growing in my country. The American debates for the office of president are insanely capitalizing on that fear. I hope the world will learn to love before its too late.

    Liked by 1 person

    • davidprosser says:

      Ouch, what a reminder of my age. You’re quite right Laine, the nuclear age still and still many despots with buttons of their own to press. You just never know when one will decide to try and wipe out their enemy. Hopefully the thought of retaliation will keep them in check.
      Judging by the way Donald Trump has been talking I wouldn’t want him anywhere near a button either.
      The world is slow to realise the truth that only when it learns love will it be safe. When we stop killing each other, we can concentrate on making the planet healthy again. A safe place for our grandbabies to live.
      xxx Gigantic Hugs xxx

      Liked by 1 person

  6. We have to keep hope in our hearts. Good post, David. Hugs xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  7. dvaal says:

    The good -is always good. The bad is always bad. I’m glad there was good in the hippies.
    fiddledeedeebooks.wordpress.com

    Like

    • davidprosser says:

      There was more good than anything else Dee.They wanted to change the world for the better. They wanted to end wars, make the world fair for all and wanted total equality between the races and the sexes too.Much of the music of the time was protest music with wonderful people like Bob Dylan, The Byrds, Joan Baez, Melanie,Judy Collins, Joni Mitchell and so many more joining in. I’d say the Vietnam war came to an end largely thanks to that generation protesting against the senselessness of that war, of all wars.
      Mind you, being of that generation I’m not going to say anything bad am I? ha ha.
      Incidentally,my wife was animal mad too and loved her dressage.
      xxx Gigantic Hugs xxx

      Liked by 1 person

      • dvaal says:

        Was? She doesn’t ride anymore? I was a teenager in the 70’s so I share a small amount of hippie love. However, they were the beginning to the free sex and drug revolution -which I do object too. The lives I see damaged everyday as a CASA -proves their dangers. Also, my dad fought in Vietnam. Even though I am not pro-war -I deeply respect those that fight for our freedom and the rights of others. Hugs

        Liked by 1 person

      • davidprosser says:

        She died almost 3 years ago now Dee. I have to say I don’t mind the free sex too much as it’s better than paying (joke- I should be so lucky) but I don’t believe in drugs at all except maybe medicinal marijuana. I was in the forces too and I have the greatest respect for those that protect our countries, but not necessarily for the politicians that send them everywhere else. WWI and WW2 were wars of necessity that involved our countries and real freedoms but not so Vietnam, and the wars since. Some are merely to gain control of oil. Politicians aren’t found at the pointy end of the stick.
        Have the Services to provide employment and to protect our shores but we need peace, real peace and understanding to help the people and the planet to heal.
        xxx Gigantic Hugs xxx

        Liked by 1 person

      • dvaal says:

        Yes -I agree! I am deeply sorry about your wife. I would have liked her! I have a Gigantic Hug back for you -I would be lonely without my husband, so I can only imagine!

        Like

  8. I’ve been feeling that it is time for hippies to once again appear. The music, the compassion, and desire for truth and peace must shine now. We truly need this all more than ever. Beautiful post and fantastic choice of music, David. xx Hugs Galore xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • davidprosser says:

      Thank you that’s very kind.There are plenty of that generation still alive and plenty of the groups that played then.It would be better if a new generation of Hippies came forward though full of all those feeling and with the energy to carry the message.Peace not War, Make Love not War, Bring our Troops Home added o which we need to shout, No More Fracking, No More Deforestation and Stop Killing The Planet.
      We know all people are the same regardless of skin colour and we know that Women are equal to man. We have to put that knowledge into practise.
      Hugs

      Liked by 1 person

      • I wholeheartedly agree.

        We are in the midst of a political revolution here in the States. Many of the members of this peaceful revolution are indeed, Millennials who range from 18 to 34. I am seeing a generational bond within this group, that I never saw with my generation (GenX). Their bond reminds me of what I saw in the Baby Boomers, within the movements you describe. The leader we are supporting is Bernie Sanders, who not-so-ironically is a Baby Boomer. It’s an interesting time here. We are trying to make history. If you have any hugs to spare, please send them in spirit to Bernie. The establishment is giving him (and us!) a hard time. For the sake of peace, Sanders is the leader we must have in US and for the world.
        Hugs

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

