Desiderata

Some of you won’t have been around in the 70’s when  there was a surprising hit record in the UK. A song taken from a poem written in 1927 by a man named  Max Ehrmann was largely unknown in his lifetime. It really gained prominence when it was made into a song by Les Crane in late 1971 though Leonarn Nimoy had included a recitation of it on his album in 1968.

I share it today because it does have some relevant things for us to consider. Most especially Be on good terms with all persons.

desiderata_for_print

Though I personally do not believe in God and have always maintained that I would leave religion off this site because of it’s divisiveness I appreciate the writer’s comment that you should be at peace with God whatever you conceive him to be. That leaves enough leeway for me to say that my god is my feeling for my fellow humans of all hues. Whatever your god is don’t let it separate you from those who don’t share it or don’t call it by the same name. Celebrate our difference but also the fact that WE ARE ONE.

Hugs Galore between us all.

About davidprosser

Retired Local Government Officer who started to write at age 60 and hasn't looked back. Writes a humorous diary on the life of a member of the gentry.......and the village he lives in with his sadistic early morning alarm cat Oscar and his wife the formidable Lady J.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Desiderata

  1. Very well done, David. Bravo! ❤
    (But do we really have to include my bosses in this??? I'm not sure they qualify as people, being without most of the basics of humanity… Okay — i'm just kidding.)
    Mega-hugs. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is a wonderful way to start my day. The music is glorious and the words…the words gave me chills and food for thought. I must save this to listen to again and again. I don’t believe I’ve heard this before. Thank you, David. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  3. One of my favorite poems! Well done David! 💖

    Liked by 1 person

  4. suzjones says:

    I’ve always like this poem and the song.

    Like

Leave a Reply

