11.11 Why I Choose to Wear a White Poppy

How a good person comes to renounce the senselessness of war.
We should all remember the fallen but vow that no more shall fall for the sake of profit.

Tao of Scrumble

IMG_0909.PNG

Earlier this year I wrote about taking part in the Global Peace Meditation, along with over 100,000 other people on~line. When he read it, Lord David Prosser asked me if I would write a ‘peace piece’ for his blog The Buthidars.

It’s been a while now since David’s request and ~ although I’ve made several false starts ~ I haven’t quite managed to get it together, until now. He wondered why I became a pacifist at an early age and that question immediately brought up memories of my stepfather. A ‘gentle giant’ in every sense of the word, who instilled in my young mind a healthy respect for all living creatures.

As a veterinary surgeon in the Ministry of Agriculture, his was a reserved occupation ~ he carried out vital work on the Home Front during Second World War. But three of his brothers enlisted in the army and…

View original post 514 more words

About davidprosser

Retired Local Government Officer who started to write at age 60 and hasn't looked back. Writes a humorous diary on the life of a member of the gentry.......and the village he lives in with his sadistic early morning alarm cat Oscar and his wife the formidable Lady J.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 11.11 Why I Choose to Wear a White Poppy

  1. davidprosser says:

    Thank you Jacqueline. The piece is perfect and the sentiments shared.
    xxx Huge Hugs xxx

    Like

  2. That’s a great guest post, David. It’s nice to meet Jacqueline. Hugs all around.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you for re logging my post, David! (I told you it might take some time for me to get around to it!) And thanks too, for your lovely comments about me, I’m genuinely touched ~ it has been an emotional few days, sifting through all these memories. I do agree that the ‘war machine’ is focused on profit, rather than the loss of human lives and the collateral damage wars leave in their wake. But there has been enough rhetoric bandied about the Internet over the last week or so, which is why the personal approach sprung into my mind. Thankyou once again for this opportunity to examine my thoughts and feelings on the subject. (((Grateful Hugs Galore!))) Jacqueline x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

